Dedicated to the Memory of's BruceFollow Us on Twitter
Am I
Search Celebrities (By Last Name)
Search Collections
In The News
Voting Station
Ottawa Senators (Defunct)
Please vote to return to collections (Voting Results will appear on Right Sidebar).
Sports Team
    (1886-October 15, 1935)
    Ottawa Hockey Club/Generals (AHA 1886-1898, CAHL 1899-1902)
    Ottawa Silver Seven (FAHL 1903-05, ECAHA 1905-08)
    Ottawa Senators (ECAHA 1908-09, NHA January 1910-17, NHL 1917-31, 32-March 15, 1934)
    St. Louis Eagles (NHL November 1934-March 1935)
    Ceased Operations on October 15, 1935
    Played in Lady Aberdeen Park (1880-1907), Dey Brothers Rink (1907-23), Ottawa Arena (1923-34) and St. Louis Arena (1934-35)
    Won fifteen Stanley Cup Challenges (1894 ... 1910)
    Won five NHL Stanley Cups (1911 1920, 21, 23, 27)
    Hall of Famers: Jack Adams, Frank Ahearn, Clint Benedict, Frank Boucher, George Boucher, Punch Broadbent, Harry Cameron, King Clancy, Sprague Cleghorn, Alex Connell, Bill Cowley, Rusty Crawford, Jack Darragh, Cy Denneny, Eddie Gerard, Billy Gilmour, Tommy Gorman, Syd Howe, Bouse Hutton, Harry Hyland, Percy LeSueur, Frank McGee, Frank Nighbo, Tom Phillips, Harvey Pulford, Gordon Roberts, Art Ross, Alf Smith, Hooley Smith, Tommy Smith, Bruce Stuart, Hod Stuart, Cyclone Taylor, Marty Walsh, Cooney Weiland and Harry Westwick
    Retired #8 Frank Finnigan
    They lost to the Montreal AAA, 3-1, in the very first Stanley Cup finals (March 22, 1894).
    Named the Senators as early as 1903, everyone referred to them as the Silver Seven. Although amateurs, the owner of the Ottawa Senators paid his players with silver nuggets. Thus they were known as 'The Silver Seven.'
    They were known as a rugged tough club, as in a 1904 Stanley Cup Challenge, each opponent on the Winnipeg Rowing Club ended up on a stretcher.
    On March 17, 1906 they lost a Stanley Cup challenge to the Montreal Wanderers.
    In 1909, they helped organize the doomed Canadian Hockey Association. They refused to allow their rivals the Montreal Wanderers to join. The CHA played only two games and folded (1910). The Montreal Wanderers created the National Hockey Association and allowed them to join (1910).
    In 1916, due to the loss of players to WW I, they asked to drop out of the NHA for a year, but were refused.
    They did not field a team for the 1931-32 season.
    During the 1933-34 seasons, they attempted to merge into the New York Americans, but the NHL board refused the merger.
    Near bankruptcy, the Ottawa Senators relocated to St. Louis (1934). Somewhat of a dumb move in that the more expensive travel costs from St. Louis turned them into a financial disaster.
    St. Louis originally asked for an expansion team in 1932 but was turned down. They were able to secured the Senators in 1934.
    After the Eagles folded, St. Louis attempted unsuccessfully to attract the Montreal Maroons (1936-38), but were eventually awarded the St. Louis Blues franchise (1967).
    Not to be outdone, the new Ottawa Senators filed bankruptcy (January 9, 2003).
    They were instrumental in organizing the first true ice hockey league, the Amateur Hockey Association (1894).
    They played in the first Stanley Cup finals (1894).
    From March 7, 1903-March 8, 1906, they defended the Stanley Cup, 10 times, winning all 10.
    They regained the cup March 3, 1909 defeating the Montreal Wanderers and held it for three more challenges until they lost to the Montreal Wanderers on May 5, 1910. They regained the cup on March 13, 1911.
    They were an original member of the NHA (1910) and founding member of the NHL (1917).
    They played the very first NHL game losing to the Montreal Canadians, 7-4 (December 17, 1917).
    They only lost one Stanley Cup final out of six (1915).
    In an act of good sportsmanship, since they had very similar sweaters as their Stanley Cup opponents the Seattle Metropolitans, they agreed to just wear plain white jerseys (1920).
    From 1919-1930 they made the playoffs every year. After 1930 they never returned to the playoffs.
    They had an incredible season going 30-10-4 for 64 points (1926-27).
    They were the rare sports team that after taking a year off in 1931, returned to play in 1932.
    The St. Louis Arena was so modern when the Eagles played there in 1935, that the 1967 Blues called it home.
    A new NHL franchise took their name, Ottawa Senators (December 6, 1990). That franchise began play in 1992.
    For 2021, as of last week, Out of 7 Votes: 0% Annoying
    In 2020, Out of 7 Votes: 28.57% Annoying
    In 2019, Out of 3 Votes: 100% Annoying
    In 2017, Out of 9 Votes: 33.33% Annoying
    In 2016, Out of 11 Votes: 27.27% Annoying
    In 2015, Out of 2 Votes: 100% Annoying
    In 2014, Out of 25 Votes: 60.0% Annoying
    In 2013, Out of 12 Votes: 58.33% Annoying
    In 2012, Out of 122 Votes: 63.11% Annoying
    In 2011, Out of 23 Votes: 56.52% Annoying
    In 2010, Out of 72 Votes: 59.72% Annoying
    In 2009, Out of 23 Votes: 56.52% Annoying
    In 2008, Out of 46 Votes: 78.26% Annoying
    In 2007, Out of 196 Votes: 73.47% Annoying
    In 2006, Out of 182 Votes: 73.63% Annoying
    In 2005, Out of 211 Votes: 60.19% Annoying
    In 2004, Out of 260 Votes: 63.46% Annoying
Annoying Collections
Site News